Would love some feedback on my sepia-syntax theme. Especially if you like light background themes. :D

I have been working in Atom for a few months now as my main editor, and I’ve been changing out my theme slowly to get something I like and looks good.

Let me know what you think!

Thank You for Your Awesome Work! The theme is great :smiley:
The best part is that it doesn’t hurt your eyes like the stock atom light syntax theme.

I appreciate the feedback @steelbrain

Thats what I was going for was a theme that is easy on the eyes in a daylight environment, but also has enough contrast in the syntax to be readable and immediately recognizable.

If anyone has any suggestions, let me know!

My first reaction was: it’s too pink! (I’m using Sepia Light UI and Sepia Syntax.)

But I spent a few more seconds with it and I discovered:

• The selection is very easy to see. That’s really useful.
  • The current line highlighting is subtle, so subtle that at the beginning I couldn’t find the line. But then I realized that the line number highlighting is less subtle, so by looking there I can find the current line easily.
  • It’s the first time I’m using a theme where it’s obvious whether the tree view has focus or not: the selected item in the tree view becomes blue when the tree view has focus. It’s still not optimal, but way better than anything else I’ve used.
  • All themes suffer from the problem if there is more than one pane (say I’ve split the window into a left pane and a right pane), then it’s not clear which pane has focus. I’ve added a border around the pane to compensate, but it’s not ideal.

Same here. Actually to me it looks like it is pink.

Appreciate the feedback, strange that it looks pink when it’s more based in the orange spectrum. Are you running Flux or anything that changes your monitor temp?

I am pushing a new revision to work better with One Light, so that may help.

I’ll look into the pane focus thing. :smiley: