Why is Atom so slow?

I used Brackets recently and it opens like 10x faster than Atom and as far as I know it’s based on the same technology. Why is atom so much slower?

Why is Atom so fast?
Takes Atom 20+ seconds to start
Keep atom as background app for improved startup time
Why is Atom so fast?
Topics that start with "Why"
Why my atom is slow?
Atom too slow on my Macbook Pro
Why my atom is so slow and use so much ram
Atom is pretty slow in comparaison of sublime
Could be faster
Atom is slow as compared to Sublime
Why is Atom painfully slow?

I don’t think anyone here is expert enough in Brackets to give a point-by-point comparison. Any volunteers?

Perhaps if you’re curious you could dig into the code and suggest some performance optimizations?

Yeah, I’m already kind of doing this but I’m no expert in node.js and javascript stuff, just wanted to know if anybody cares about this. I’m currently a little stuck at making atom-shell work with atom, simply dragging atom folder onto the shelll didn’t work for some reason :smiley:

We absolutely care. Some are bothered by the startup time more than others, of course. But we are all here because we want to see Atom succeed :grinning:

I’m confused by this part of your post though, Atom already includes atom-shell within it. There isn’t any need to try to put them together, to my knowledge. Or am I missing something?

For me it is really slow when opening up a folder from a mounted drive with Transmit.

I remember seeing an issue on atom/atom for flakiness and performance problems with mounted volumes.

While Brackets is itself built in HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, it isn’t a “full browser” in the way that Atom is. There’s no webkit/blink inspector in Brackets, for instance, and it isn’t running a full Chromium (or other browser) inside it. Rather, it’s presumably built in a similar way to other “desktop” apps built on top of NodeJS.