Why I think Atom is flawed

Hello peeps,

Atom is great in many ways, no doubt i have been using Notepad ++ for a few years now and tweaked it to my liking amidst all its options with a sublime text monokai theme. I was not really on the lookout for a new IDE however stumbling across the Atom site i had to give it a go and see if i can switch to a more robust IDE compared to Notepad ++. There is no doubt Atom is graphically beautiful compared to Notepad ++ and the live install of packages is fantastic, theming is spot on also. But there is some bad points i need to address.

I have done some benchmarks between what i was used to and also with the latest build of Atom (im a windows user btw) and i must say Atom on first load is abysmal compared to the later.

It literally takes about x3 or more of the load time in general to open a file and start editing.

Thats my first gripe… although i can live with it.

The second and this probably related more to Windows users is the way atom is installed and managed by Windows. It is unlike most programs installed i know of… here are some questions i would like answered.

1. Why does it install into a hidden directory of AppData 4 directories deep before you get to the .exe file ?
  2. Why does it not install to the traditional Program Files directory ?
  3. Why with every new release does it create a new directory with a version number instead of installing to a common directory ?

Atom is literally impossible for me to use efficiently for my workflow… and here is why.

Firstly i generally load up a ftp program when i have to tweak some files using FlashFXP (my preferred ftp program) within FlashFXP i can choose a program to associate file for editing with eg. . with atom.exe

This now means i can use a shortcut key to EDIT the file from ftp, it downloads it local in temp i edit the file in Atom then i SAVE in Atom and FlashFXP auto uploads the file for me.

This is how i work and ive been working like this for years.