Why choose Atom? (ATOM vs VISUAL STUDIO CODE)

Hello,

Consulting some random web searched topics will have me believe that Visual Studio Code is the better framework. My question is not a straight one on which one is best. It is rather: Why do you choose Atom?

I have spent some of my private time with Atom. Yet I have the feeling I am betting on the wrong horse. I hope to convinced otherwise.

#####Allow me to disclose my position and first impressions -
I am an industrial PLC coder (LAD/FBD/SCL) by day. This started with me wanting to learn Python. The need is to process work data more effeciently than what LibreOffice Calc can handle. I am starting at the bottom with all ‘this’ (text editor / program languages).

My own installation of VSC does seem more capable than Atom right out of the box, for a beginner like me. Having built-in terminal that can run scripts and handle name = 'Your name: ' makes so much sense.

Atom has a terminal as an optional Package which I’m still not sure which one is best. My current choice seem buggy. VSC also offer change tracking for not-connected-to-web work, again out of the box. The footprint of VSC is more friendly for my 5th generation (mobile) i5.

Atom does seem more friendly on making changes to Packages. I could already customize the ‘buggy’ Terminal Package to make it capable to run scripts with a touch of a button. Coffeescript (Atom) does seem more friendly for me than TypeScript (VSC).

All I am trying to do is discover the right fit for me without spending too much time teaching myself both frameworks. I hope to also be able to give back to the community with some custom changes to Packages / Extensions.

I hope on a constructive chat that will help a n00b like me.

• Dan Padric