What can i code in Atom?

Im a total newb to coding and want to start learning mostly a backend framework like RoR or NodeJS. Can I code both of these in Atom? What languages can I use in Atom?

EDIT: What is the difference between Atom and a program like RubyMine?

Atom is a text editor. If the language uses text as source code, you can write it in Atom. This includes virtually every programming language designed by humans. (Though I suppose Atom doesn’t have good support for languages that use line numbers.)

Atom has built-in support for most modern programming languages and there are community packages that help support the rest.

Thank you for your response! What is the difference between Atom and something like RubyMine?

Atom is a general programmer’s text editor. It is designed to work with any language to a certain level. Because of this, it doesn’t offer really advanced features for specific languages or tasks (yet). Applications that offer these more targeted features for specific languages or frameworks are generally referred to as IDEs (Integrated Development Environments).

On the flip side, many IDEs fall pretty flat if you need to write code in something outside what they are specifically designed for. So you find yourself switching from IDE to IDE as your needs change … and then you have to spend a bunch of time learning the new keyboard shortcuts, feature sets, etc. Whereas with a text editor like Atom, you could conceivably use it for decades without switching. (Just ask the vim and Emacs die-hards.)

Ruby on Rails developer here. I’ll second leedohm’s description as accurate. I’d like to expand on it just a little bit.

Generally an editor (vim, emacs, atom, sublime text, notepad++) is a program that’s made for editing any general types of text. Features of most editors:

• naive completions (completions based on what’s already written)
  • simple helpers like auto-indentation and syntax highlighting
  • quick to start up