Using keyboard-layout package

I’m fairly new to Atom and I’m looking into ways to fix keyboard layout issues I’m having (with AltG) on macOS, using custom keyboard layout. Basically Alt + any letter resolves into 'alt-undefined'(I don’t have many key mappings there in my keyboard layout)

I’d like to (at least for undefined letters), be able to map to original character. So Alt-W would actually fire Alt-W keybinding (if there is any). Right now I can’t use almost any keybinding that uses alt key.

I had some success by adding code to init.js

atom.keymaps.addKeystrokeResolver(({event}) => {
  if(event.code === 'KeyW' && event.altKey) {
    // ...
  }
})

but I’d like to use the functionality provided by keyboard-layout package. I don’t know how to install and require it properly.

var KeyboardLayout = require('keyboard-layout') doesn’t seem to work. “Cannot find module ‘keyboard-layout’” Do I need to install this module somehow?

EDIT: var KeyboardLayout = require('keyboard-layout') doesn’t work in init.js, but works if I put debugger; and then evaluate that line in the Console. :man_shrugging:

Hi :wave:

I don’t think you can require in the way you describe in your init script. So to use keyboard-layout like you describe you would need to make a package.

You can check out my package to get an idea on how to add this functionality as a package.

What is your keyboard layout? It would be interesting to fix this in Atom core instead of requiring you to write a custom keystroke resolver.

You’re right, this fix would probably fit better in Atom core.

I’m using custom layout on macOS, that I built using Ukelele app.

So far I haven’t had any issues in other editors, nor in any other app. Atom is the only app in which I noticed ALT+key doesn’t behave as expected.