Use .coffee to config .less in a package

So I am building this UI theme called Graphite-UI. And I am fiddling around with .coffee to let the user have some options. Now I am totally new to coffeescript and I want to know if the following is even possible:
I want to have an option, say a simple boolean, that will change a setting in a .less file. Say we have a toggle for background color of the UI. If it is on, the @background-color in the less files changes to green, if it’s off the color will be red.
I know it is possible to solve it with a addition of a class, but I want to change it in the .less-file so other colors (based and that variable using lighten etc) change accordingly.

What's the risk of not-defining standard syntax variables?

Less has js interpolation. So maybe you could have a less-vars.json file, and read it from less with fs.readFileSync('less-vars.json');? Then you would need to reload your less style every time you write to that file.

Thanks! Let me try that, have to figure out how to access and write to a .json file though.

You can do that from coffeescript easily:

fs = require 'fs'
fs.writeFileSync 'less-vars.json', JSON.parse(object)

The json file can be a file in your project directory

Cool, so I got something like this in my .coffee:

applyThemeColoring = (useColors) ->
  if useColors
    fs = require 'fs'
    data = '{"theme": "blue"}';
    fs.writeFileSync 'less-vars.json', JSON.parse(data)

It triggers the code, but it gives me the permission denied error when trying to access the file. I put it in the project root folder.

EDIT: Also, I think this is super basic stuff, no? Is there a tutorial I should follow, instead of bothering you again? :smile:

The path in the fs.writeFileSync should be relative to the coffeescript file. So assuming your coffeescript file is in project-root/lib/file.coffee, and the json file is indeed in the project root (project-root/less-vars.json), it should read this: