Uncaught TypeError: "file" argument must be a non-empty string

running atom on mac 10.13 and i’m trying to start to study python, but when I run the program this happens. i believe i have all the relevant compilers and scripts downloaded, so what could the problem be? please help a complete newb out

Hello.

Please; more information is needed than what you have supplied now.

Which add-on packages have you loaded onto Atom that executes a Python script? Which Python version have you installed on your PC?

Of those packages, do make sure that all the configuration settings are configured. My first guess is that some package does not know where you have installed Python.

Regards.

here are the currently downloaded python packages. i’m completely new to atom and programming in general, so forgive me if I’ve missed something.

also, I have downloaded the latest mac python (it’s 3.7 i think), but I don’t like the IDE that comes with it so i want to use python on atom instead.

the third image in that album appeared just recently, when i tried to open a program in python.

Python has to be installed on your system and needs to be registered in your “PATH”.

The last image you shared in the album requests that the language server be installed. The “pip” is a Python package manager type system AFAIK.

Packages in Atom is any many cases only the middleman between Atom and some application (such as Python). In many cases these applications are terminal running programs. Please read carefully all the instructions and configurations supplied with each Atom package you install.

Good luck.

I already donwloaded the install package from python.org. is that not the right one? is it not compatible with atom?

That sounds good to me. That is the official version (and the only one I would trust).

The packages still needs configuring and may request some additional installs like the message you reported on last. Have you done that yet?