Unable to install packages through atom or shell

I am new to the whole coding thing and just got Atom tonight. I was looking around online and saw a few packages that peaked my interest so I went into Atom and tried to install from there, but only got errors after I tried to install.

Here is the error message that is being given to me every time. I have also tried to install the packages through powershell but it’s just giving the same errors.

I am running Windows 10. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

First, try deleting the folder C:\Users\bigg_\.atom\.apm. It’s just a cache folder, so it’s fine to blow it up, and the error seems to indicate a problem with a file in that folder.

I deleted the folder, retried the installation, and the folder was reinstalled and the same error was given. What kind of sorcery is this

What does the log file say?

The file literally does not exist… I’ve even copied the link from the error message itself and put that into windows explorer and I am only getting errors for that as well

Okay so I found another package that I wanted to install, tried that, and it installed perfectly fine. Is it possible there is a problem with the package itself? I’m trying to get atom-beautify

Ah. When you said packages, I assumed you had tried a bunch already. If it’s just atom-beautify, that’s good information. I still have no way of telling what the error is, but there’s a chance that you can install the package manually and bypass whatever APM is trying to do that isn’t working. Here’s what you need to do:

1. Install Node.js version 8.11.4 (the current long-term support version, which means that it won’t be obsolete for a while).