Trying to use atom as a revision sheet

Hi, first of all sorry for my english, it’s not my native language.
I’m in last year at high school and I really suck at chemical Physics and I wanted to make revision sheet to learn again from scratch and I was using atom while I had that idea and I tought that I could use Atom and create a language so when I’ll type the name of the gold atom (funny coincidence isnt it :smile: ) that is Au it will write it with a specific color automaticly like when I write print in python.
I’d like to do it to encourage me and to share it with some friends that need help too.
I hope I was clear, thanks by advance

Syntax highlighting in Atom is dictated by what the language package matches, and then colored by the syntax theme. You can circumvent those, though. If you add the following to your init.coffee file (File -> Open Init Script), you will find all instances of Au colored in gold:

# Au man
ausomeFunction = (editor) ->
  options = {
    type: "text"
    style: {color: "gold"}
  }

editor.scan /\bAu\b/, (result) ->
    marker = editor.markBufferRange result.range
    decoration = editor.decorateMarker marker, options

atom.workspace.observeTextEditors (editor) ->
  ausomeFunction(editor)

editor.onDidStopChanging ->
    ausomeFunction(editor)

Show all trailing whitespace, including when a line is just whitespace

Thanks a lot DamnedScholar ! Now I can see that I need to learn more about the script language that atom use so I’ll can scripts myself. I’ll try to learn on the documentation, I tought it would be easier than that. Thanks again.

Atom can natively interpret modern JavaScript (if you type atom -v into the command line, you’ll see the included version of Chrome) with features supported by Node and Babel, and version 1 of CoffeeScript. You are given an init.coffee file, but you can rename it to init.js and write vanilla JS if you want.