Totally new to atom: autocomplete help

Hi all,

as I have to write tons of XPATH expressions I am looking for a tool, that supports me.
So I am looking for a feature where I can customize the autocompletion. Does ATOM provide such a plugIn? I saw some plugins but I am sure if they are customizable.

As I am totally new to ATOM I would appreciate any help. The internet and this forum is full of information and I cannot find what I am looking for.

Regards
Mario

You could put them in your snippets.cson file. These will be picked up by the autocomplete-snippets package, and will appear in the popup menu as you type. More on writing snippets can be found in the link, but I can give you some assistance if you provide some prefix & body pairs you want (where the prefix is what you type, and the body is what it gets replaced with)

https://flight-manual.atom.io/using-atom/sections/snippets/

If you know some JS, you could write an autocomplete provider directly for autocomplete-plus. This is not necessary though, unless you want highly customised behaviour.

Hi Aerijo,

may thanks for your quick reply and your offer to give some assistance. Is autocomplete-snippets preinstalled?
As I am german the english instuctions are sometimes hard to understand. And as I am totally new to ATOM it is more difficult :slight_smile:

Lets assume the following easy example.
When I type in a M I would like to show second names like

• Miller
  • Manson or
  • Mansfield
    If I choose e.g. Miller I want to display the firstnames of the family Miller, e.g.
  • Peter
  • Paul
  • Mary

Is this possible? What do I have to do?
Many, many thanks for your help as I have to write approximatly 1500 XPATH statements :slight_smile:
Regards Mario

I found a good intrdoduction on youtube:

Could anybody please explain what is the meaning of ‘.source.js’?
Whe I open I new file, do I have to state what kind of file I am editing? (e.g. js, txt, xml)?