Sudo / Su Permissions per file

Hi All,

Just a quick Feature request.
I use Atom on Debian Sid.

When I edit another file that requires su/sudo permissions it wont save due to the fact the program wasnt started as Sudo or the superuser.
This is different if Atom was already closed, and opened with su/sudo permissions (then it has no problems).

The way Sublime text handles this, is just opening the file in another window that has the sudo/su permissions.

It would be great if Atom would be able to handle the permissions of the file per tab, that way the existing behaviour could be kept and yet give permissions to save if need be.
The Sublime text way is OK, but it would be great to do it per file tab so multiple windows don’t need to be opened.

I’m not an expert on the Unix security model, so forgive me if my understanding is incomplete. Aren’t sudo and su permissions granted by changing the user account the process is running under, for example to root? (Or creating a new process that is running under that other user account.) I would think this would mean that if I:

1. Opened a blank file
  2. Elevated to sudo to edit /etc/foo
  3. Edited /etc/foo but did not yet save or close it
  4. Created another file /home/lee/foo/bar/baz
  5. Clicked Save All

Then either #1 and #4 would be saved as root or if I needed to edit multiple files as root, I would have to elevate for each and every one of them.

Also, if the entire process is elevated to root … what about all the non-editor-window activity that happens in the process? All the package code. All the writing of window serialization files. I’m not sure that it would be very easy to sandbox off some portions of the process as “this part is sudo” and “this part isn’t”.

Personally, given that my understanding is correct … I think the separate “sudo window” and separate process is a better solution.