[SOLVED] Cursor jump to first line after last and to last from first (loop)

I would like to know if there is a method, that if I am pressing the Down key (jumping down on lines) and I hit the last line, I want it to jump to the first one! Same, if I hit the first line by pressing the Up arrow, I want it to jump to the last line. Kind of like an endless cursor.

Keymap - action depending on what's under cursor

You could certainly write an init.coffee script to accomplish this. You’d want to create a command that checks to see if the cursor position is on the last line of the buffer. If so, then it moves the cursor to [0,0]. Bind the command to down and it will take effect when you press the key while at the end of the buffer.

Can you help me to find some sources for this or even help with the code? :slight_smile: I am pretty new in the topic, and so far I can change the cursor position to 0,0 on atom editor start by putting this code into init.coffee:

atom.workspace.observeTextEditors (editor) ->
    editor.setCursorBufferPosition([0,0])

I also tried putting it into a function like this:

loopcursor = () ->      
  atom.workspace.observeTextEditors (editor) ->
    editor.setCursorBufferPosition([0,0])

And on keymap.cson

'atom-workspace':
  'down': 'loopcursor:down'

In this case, the down functionality totally broke in Atom, were not able to jump on lines anymore.

Can you tell me if I am on the right way at least? :slight_smile:

The Atom documentation covers how to create a new command. A few points:

1. Commands are conventionally named following the pattern <package>:<name>. For user-defined commands, it’s useful to have them all labeled like user:down or custom:down in order to make it clear that the command is coming from init.coffee.