Shadow DOM and syntax themes

I just started using Atom a little while ago and I thought I’d try my hand at generating a new syntax theme based on some of the customization I’ve been making in my own style sheet and as an introduction/tutorial to hacking bits and pieces of Atom.

However, I’m pretty new to this type of coding and despite searching here for information, I’m still a little confused about the use of shadow DOM in the text editor component. Specifically, when and where I should be using ::shadow as part of the selector in my syntax theme files.

Here’s what I’ve gathered thus far:

Based on this post and on the default theme that gets generated by using the “Package Generator: Generate Syntax Theme” command, it appears that everything in base.less (or whatever equivalent you indicate in the index.less file) shouldn’t need to use ::shadow at all, since syntax themes are already loaded inside the editor’s shadow DOM.

However, it appears as though out that the wrap guide will ignore any style you try to apply to it with, e.g.:

atom-text-editor .wrap-guide { background-color: red; }

Instead, you have to style it with:

atom-text-editor::shadow .wrap-guide { background-color: red; }

The same behavior can be observed for search markers, which leads me to believe that this may have something to do with fact these styles are also defined by the wrap-guide and find-and-replace packages.

This (finally) leads me to a couple of questions:

1. What is ::shadow doing in this context? We appear to already be inside the shadow DOM. I don’t have to use atom-text-editor::shadow .comment to set the style of comments the way I do in my personal style sheet.

2. Does it actually have anything to do with the fact that wrap-guide and find-result are also defined in the packages that add this functionality to Atom or is that simply a coincidence?