Set a preference for all users?


#1

I’ve just had a user come to my office having lost hours of work in Atom. Her machine crashed while Atom was saving, and I was astonished to discover that Atom saves by first truncating the file in-place, before putting the contents of the buffer on disk.

I’m aware that I can enable Back Up Before Saving for my own preferences, but realistically most users aren’t going to sit down and make this change if we email them about it, even if it could protect their work.

I’ve already asked in issue 9166 about making that option be on by default, but is there a way I can set the preference for all users on a computer when they use Atom for now?


#2

No, there isn’t a method to set a machine-wide preference in Atom currently. All preferences are stored in the user’s folder.