Run a CMD command from inside atom using path of FOLDER containing the file I am editing

Hello guys!

I am an Atom beginner and I am no programmer, however I do have to work with code as a sound designer and Atom was suggested by friends because of it’s unlimited openness.

Currently after I am done writing a config file, I right click the folder containing the config and by using an added shell-command I do this:

"C:\Path_To_Tool\makePBO.exe" -L -B -G "%1" "E:\Downloads\TargetPath"

I managed to come up with this “line of code” with lots of help of a friend.

So the first half is the path to a tool that packs up folders into packages.
The “%1” is the folder path so the tool knows what folder to process.
The 2nd path is for the tool to know where to put the final data.

I would like to execute above command from INSIDE Atom. I need to learn how to first execute code from inside Atom (I am really a noob) and how to pass along the “path of the folder which contains the file I am editing” to that code as a “%1”.

So in an ideal world I would hit a keycommand in Atom and the makePBO tool would pack up the data, automatically knowing the path of the folder which contains the currently open file.

Is something like this possible and if yes, could someone help me get there?

Thank you very much folks,

have a nice day!

Hello there,
I think what you’re asking is possible indeed, you just need do play around a bit in order to make things work.

What I would suggest you is to use a BufferedProcess to spawn the packaging command from within the Atom Init File.

What happens here is that you create a new command Atom will respond to, and you add it to the init file. Let’s say your command looks like this:

atom.commands.add 'atom-text-editor', 'PackUtils:create-package', ->
  # packaging logic will be implemented here
  # you can use a buffered process to create your package

Whenever you’re in a text editor, you can invoke this command through the Command Palette.