Require('ipc') returns undefined in renderer process

I am hosting a web-app in electron.exe, and am trying to send an IPC message from the renderer process to the main process, per code below:

var ipc = require('ipc');
    ipc.send('close-main-window');

Problem is the “require(‘ipc’)” call always returns “undefined”.

I tried installing the IPC module (see cmd-line below), but that didn’t help:

C:>npm install ipc
ipc@0.0.1 node_modules\ipc
├── async@0.1.22
├── redis@0.7.3
└── winston@0.5.11 (stack-trace@0.0.9, colors@0.6.2, eyes@0.1.8, pkginfo@0.2.3,loggly@0.3.11)

I am new to the whole concept of Electron/Atom-shell, and probably am misunderstanding something very fundamental. Or maybe my paths are all messed up, due to my renderer script coming from a web-server, instead of being stored locally with the application.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The IPC library is built-in to Electron, you don’t need to (and probably shouldn’t) install the ipc node module.

This also sounds like a likely culprit. Electron is designed primarily to easily build local applications using web technologies. It isn’t designed to be a replacement use-specific web browser.

Thank you for the reply!

all I am doing is:
mainWindow.loadUrl(‘http://localhost/...some url’);

instead of:
mainWindow.loadUrl(‘file://C:/…some file’);

Moving the files from the server to the client would be problematic, as we would need to convert from cshtml to html, etc.

The page itself renders fine, and all the JS is working as expected. Only thing I seem to have trouble with is the require(‘ipc’) call.

Are you saying that it is impossible to render pages/scripts that are hosted on a server as opposed to stored locally? Or is there a trick I need to use?

Thanks again!

You can host your files wherever but if wherever is outside of Electron (e.g. localhost) you won’t have access to Electron specific modules.

Maybe using a webview would work better in your case.