Require in UI code

I have a React app that was written for the browser. All of my code is broken up into modules using require( ./relative/path/ ) and browserify to bundle everything up for the browser. I’m new to using Electron, but I have gotten the impression that I could use require() in the render process, eliminating the need to pre-process with browserify. But I think I have misunderstood something, because none of my relative-path require() statements are working (Uncaught Error: Cannot find module './relative/path'). Can someone help me understand how to use require in my UI code?

Is the file you’re trying to require exporting anything; e.g. module.exports = function () {}? If that isn’t the problem posting an example of real code that is not working as expected will make it easier for others to help find the issue.

'use strict';

var DesktopApp = require('./components/myApp');
var React = require('react');

React.render(React.createElement(DesktopApp, null), document.getElementById('main'));

This is the contents of the only file included with the <script> tag in my index.html.

I get the error for require( './components/myApp'); ( and every other component ). And yes, every file uses module.exports. This application already works in the browser, using browserify. In fact, the app works fine with electron if I bundle everything with Browserify; I was just under the understanding that that wouldn’t be necessary.

Thanks

Is anything in your app patching/overriding the built-in nodejs require? Can you get it to work using the quick start app and a simple module like module.exports = function () { return 0 } that doesn’t bring in outside dependencies?

no, nothing clobbering require. I’ll try the quick start app now. I should have added, initially that I’m using electron-prebuilt. I am inferring though, from your responses, that this should work, then?

Yeah absolutely should work. A broken require would be a pretty big deal.

js/a_module.js: