Removing subscriptions with panel button

I have a simple panel that displays a button. In my main file I subscribe to events like so:

@subscriptions = new CompositeDisposable
@subscriptions.add atom.workspace.observeTextEditors (editor) =>
  buffer = editor.getBuffer()
  buffer.stoppedChangingDelay = 5000
  bufferChangedSubscription = buffer.onDidStopChanging =>
    buffer.transact =>
      @someMethod()

I would like to dispose of these subscriptions and stop listening for buffer.onDidStopChanging. Furthermore I would like to detect if theses subscriptions already exist in case I run the same command twice by accident. Every time I call the same command and check if @subscriptions? exists I get undefined even though the events are still listening. In other words, @someMethod() gets called twice in a row if I subscribe twice. How can I detect if there exists subscriptions already? And how can I have a handle on the subscription linked to a button that disposes of them?

Well, if I’m understanding correctly, you have two subscriptions that you want to dispose of. You have the observeTextEditors subcription and the onDidStopChanging subscription. But from the code above, you’re only adding one of them to the @subscriptions collection. The onDidStopChanging subscription you’re assigning to bufferChangedSubscription which, if it is a variable local only to the observeTextEditors callback, will not be retained anywhere except within that closure. Essentially, you lost the handle to dispose of it there. So yes, I can easily see this happening …

1. You open a file
  2. You call the code above
  3. You call @subscriptions.dispose()
  4. You call the code above again

You now have two onDidStopChanging subscriptions, neither of which you can dispose of.