Remapping toggle-buffer-finder

I am brand new to Atom. Just trying to figure out how to do some key remapping.

I would like to remap ctrl-t to fuzzy-finder:toggle-buffer-finder and leave ctrl-p as fuzzy-finder:toggle-file-finder.

Here is my config:

'atom-workspace':
  'ctrl-t': 'fuzzy-finder:toggle-buffer-finder'
  'ctrl-p': 'fuzzy-finder:toggle-file-finder'

For some reason toggle-file-finder still takes control of ctrl-t. Is there a step I am missing? In case it is relevant, I am using the vim-mode plugin.

Related: How do I determine what selector to use?

Have you tried using the Keybinding Resolver (Cmd+. on OS X and Ctrl+. on other platforms)? It will show you what key Atom saw you press and the command that was triggered because of it.

Key Binding Resolver: ctrl-t
âś“ fuzzy-finder:toggle-file-finder .platform-linux
âś• fuzzy-finder:toggle-file-finder .platform-win32

It doesn’t seem to be finding my custom keyboard shortcut at all.

Notice that the selectors for both of those are .platform-*. The selector you gave, atom-workspace, isn’t as specific as they are, so they win. If you replace atom-workspace with .platform-linux, you might have better luck.

How do I learn the hierarchy of selectors and what is higher than another?

http://specificity.keegan.st/

In this case however, .atom-workspace and .platform-linux have the same number of classes and no additionaly selectors. Why does moving my keyboard shortcut under .platform-linux work, but not in the other one?

Sorry if this is starting to leave the root of the question. I found the documentation about creating keyboard shortcuts to be lacking.

Thank you.

You weren’t using .atom-workspace, a class which has higher specificity, you were using atom-workspace, an element which has lower specificity.