Reasons to use Electron

Hey everyone.
I’ve been a Java developer for some years now, also been working in C#, C++, C (love the C letter) and some websites using HTML, CSS, Javascript and PHP.

Here’s the main question :

What is Electron used for ?

Obviously to build GUI application, but I’d like to get some example to know why one would use Electron instead of Java for example.

Hope I’m clear enough ahah, thanks in advance !

Its main use is to build desktop apps only using web technologies, allowing web developer and designers a fast transition to the desktop environment.

So roughly I should only use it for light application ? eg. text editor, media player etc… And keep on using Java or other for big GUI thingy, eg. timetable manager, game etc ?
Sorry if the question seems stupid, I’ve used the same technologies for some years and would like to improve my skillset range, and I guess knowing what the technology is good for is a must !
Thanks !

You can use WebGL to build games, AudioAPI to build audio apps, and basically almost all you can do native you can do with c++ node addons. But with a much faster dev cycle, thanks to JavaScript/Coffeescript/typescript. Of course you might need some optimizations, but it is in general fast enough for any application.

While a generic text editor, such as Windows’ Notepad, might be considered a “light application”, I would contend that a programmer’s editor, like Atom, is not something that should be considered “light”. If you take a look at some of the historic entries from the Atom blog, you’ll see some of the heavy architecture that goes into making Atom great:

So I would contend that Electron is an application framework that is applicable to pretty much any size application problem.

The reasons why I would select Electron over other application frameworks are:

• Cross platform
  • Rapid development
  • Easily themable
  • Can reuse code from web application on desktop application and vice versa