Rearrange Status Bar to the Bottom Panel

Hi,

Is there a way to customize Atom so the Status Bar is shown in the bottom of the Atom window, instead of the bottom of the Editor? I’m not a DOM expert so I don’t know if I can rearrange the panes that it defines.

The Status Bar shows a lot of useful information, icons, notes, but the choice to be below the Editor and show the file path are a bit strange :confused:

Thanks in advance

How to customize status-bar on ui themes?

You can paste this into your styles.less:

@import "ui-variables";

.tree-view-resizer {
  height: calc(~"100% - " (@component-line-height + 1px));
}

status-bar {
  position: fixed;
  bottom: 0;
  left: 0;
  right: 0;
  background-color: @tool-panel-background-color;
}

Hmm, this is actually an interesting enhancement idea - I hadn’t even noticed until now that the status bar doesn’t run across the whole window :grin:. Would you mind opening an issue on https://github.com/atom/status-bar?

Thanks @olmokramer, it worked :slight_smile: But appears that the same technique used for the .tree-view-resizer needs to be applied to the right panels, because the status bar is staying over the text and the vertical scroll from the editor is over the status bar. And also, if you open the Find and Replace panel, the File/directory editor is also below the status bar.

I also added an issue, as suggested by @mnquintana, thanks.

Right, I forgot about the other panels. I think applying the height to the atom-workspace element in general should fix those problems altogether:

atom-workspace {
  height: calc(...);
}

You are the man @olmokramer :smiley:!!!

Thanks

I don’t know why exactly, but Atom workspace is divided in a horizontal panel and then in vertical panels (see image below). That’s why a top or bottom panel can never stretch fully to the left and right.