React issues with Electron

Having some issues with Electron. I routinely get the following error:

Error: Cannot find module './components/NovaApp' from 'C:\..\Electron\Apps\Nova\app'

The file is in the correct place. My NovaApp component file is .jsx. It ‘seems’ that if I switch to ‘.js’, the app will start working again.

Why might this be?

I’m thinking this is being caused by a setup issue is I’m rather new to watchify/browserify/babel and the like.

For reference, my package.json looks like:

{
  "name": "nova",
  "version": "1.0.0",
  "description": "...",
  "main": "index.js",
  "scripts": {
    "test": "echo \"Error: no test specified\" && exit 1",
    "start": "electron index.js",
    "watch": "watchify app/app.jsx -t babelify -o public/js/bundle.js --debug --verbose"
  },
  "author": "",
  "license": "ISC",
  "dependencies": {
    "babel": "^6.5.2",
    "babel-plugin-transform-react-jsx": "^6.8.0",
    "babel-preset-es2015": "^6.6.0",
    "babel-preset-react": "^6.5.0",
    "babelify": "^7.2.0",
    "material-ui": "^0.15.4",
    "react": "^15.3.2",
    "react-dom": "^15.3.2",
    "react-tap-event-plugin": "^1.0.0"
  }
}

and a .babelrc file:

{
  "presets": ["es2015", "react"],
  "plugins": ["transform-react-jsx"]
}

So I’ve been it may be an issue with “precompiling” the .jsx files. I’m rather new to some of the build systems in the JS ecosystem and have found very little information (most of which is conflicting) on how to get React working in Electron.

Does anyone know how to get React, .jsx files, and Electron to play nicely?

I would have thought that with the popularity of React this would of been rather straightforward.

Thanks in advance!

The easiest way is to use electron-compile instead of setting up a custom build pipeline: https://github.com/electron/electron-compile

Hope that helps! :smiley:

Thanks, I looked it over.