Plugins for vim-mode

I’m new to the Atom community, and I find this project very intriguing. I come from a vim background, so I installed vim-mode right away to feel more at home. However, I’m missing some of the plugins that I’m used to, and I’m wondering if there’s any plan to make it possible to extend vim-mode with other packages.

For example, I love tpope’s vim-commentary plugin, which allows me to comment and uncomment lines in files of all different languages with gcc. I would like to port this plugin over to Atom for vim-mode users, and I’m wondering if there’s any mechanism to do that besides making a PR for vim-mode itself. Since the feature isn’t found in standard vim, I would imagine that it ought to be a standalone package.

Does the built in cmd+/ solve the same problem? Or is that missing some key features?

That works perfectly for commenting, but in principle I think the question still stands. There are hundreds of vim plugins, and it would be impractical to implement all of them directly in vim-mode.

But thanks @irrationalistic, that’s exactly what I was looking for :smile:

Yeah, I totally hear you! Just wanted to give a quick solution :wink:

I guess you have to choices here: you can either port the vim plugin to Atom or write a vim plugin language interpreter in javascript to embed in Atom, and use that to load and run existing vim plugins… Either way is not exactly straightforward I think…

does vim use lisp, or is that only emacs?

Looking at the source of the plugin specified in the OP it doesn’t seem like lisp at all… I fear a DSL to be involved.

If you went to the big trouble of emulating that dsl you’d be a hero of vim users. And Atom would get a lot more users. oh well …

The nice thing is that all the specs of that dsl seem to be stored into one single page: http://vimdoc.sourceforge.net/htmldoc/usr_41.html