Package to show object properties in python

I’m new to Atom & mostly new to Python so apologies if this is a dumb question.

When learning a new SDK/library, it helps to be able to quickly see what an object is and what properties/methods it has. In Python this is pretty easy to do with dir(object) or help(object), etc. but when I’m writing code, it’s annoying to have to add this line and run my code just to understand what this object is about and what it has. It would be nice if there was some package/plugin for atom that would help here.

I got the autocomplete package for Python (https://atom.io/packages/autocomplete-python) but it doesn’t seem to do help…

For example (using the OneDrive API SDK), I have this code:

root_folder = client.item(drive=“me”, id=“root”).children.get()
root_folder.

auto complete suggests just “self” but dir(root_folder) shows:

class’, ‘delattr’, ‘dict’, ‘dir’, ‘doc’, ‘eq’, ‘format’, ‘ge’, ‘getattribute’, ‘getitem’, ‘gt’, ‘hash’, ‘init’, ‘le’, ‘len’, ‘lt’, ‘module’, ‘ne’, ‘new’, ‘reduce’, ‘reduce_ex’, ‘repr’, ‘setattr’, ‘sizeof’, ‘str’, ‘subclasshook’, ‘weakref’, ‘_init_next_page_request’, ‘_prop_list’, ‘children’, 'next_page_request’]

The problem with dynamic languages (like Python) is that you have to know what type root_folder is in order to give that list that you’re asking for. The problem is that since any function can return any type, there’s no guarantee that the code client.item(drive="me", id="root").children.get() will return the type you’re expecting. The only way to know for certain is to execute the code.

Now, one can make educated guesses. If, for example, I knew:

1. That you were using the OneDrive SDK
  2. That client was a certain type
  3. That item().children returned a certain type when called on the type in step #2 under normal circumstances
  4. That get() returned a certain type when called on the type in step #3 under normal circumstances