Override default atom pending pane behaviour with hotkey

Hello.
First of all, thanks to the community for this great text editor.
I have been using it for 2 years and I’m loving it.

I find pending pane useful most of the time with one exception, sometimes files in my project folder are too large, usually it’s downloaded/generated files, which I want to remove (or more rarely rename) and when I do so from tree view atom hangs for a considerable time.

I thought it would be nice to have the ability e.g. ctrl+click file in tree view to select it without viewing in pending pane. Or maybe there is such possibility, it’s just me not aware of it?

Well, actually I can delete it without previewing, but if I change my mind and decide to keep it for a while(and in case with rename as well), editor will hang for a minute generating unneeded preview. Aldo I know that I can disable pending pane in settings, however usually I need it.

To clarify: when you right-click on a tree view item and select Rename, the file opens in a pending pane item? That doesn’t happen for me. Does it happen before or after the dialog appears asking for the new name?

If I use context menu this doesn’t happen for me either. Sorry I haven’t even tried that, I always did via Select -> F2.
But I’ve noticed that I have troubles since those file appeared in my project. Atom hangs for minutes and I had several crashes as well(I waited too long and decided to force close to be precise). I don’t understand why, maybe I’ve touched those files occasionally, I’m not sure, I can’t reliably reproduce that issue. Those files are not ridiculously giant actually, it’s csv files about not larger than 15mb, with ~30 cols and ~20000 rows. Have you any ideas what can cause this?

I have just thought of disabling syntax highlighting for csv files…