Newbie unsure how to install new packages

I’m completely new to both Atom and programming so this might be a very basic (translation: dumb) question.

I’m starting out with learning Ruby and I’d like to be able to run the scripts I’m writing within Atom. Is this possible without installing a new package that allows you to run scripts?

I didn’t think it was, so I went off in search of a package that would serve my needs. I found two: atom runner master and atom script 2.3.5. My problem is that I’m unsure how to actually install them.

I’ve tried searching for them (after moving the packages into the /.atom/packages folder) via the Preferences > Packages tab, but they can’t be found there. I also tried opening my Mac’s terminal and typing in the apm install but my terminal is saying it doesn’t recognize the apm command (I was trying to follow the instructions on the following post: http://joshbranchaud.com/blog/2014/02/27/Installing-Packages-In-Atom-Editor.html).

Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Andrew

Have you tried AppleMenu->Install Shell Commands?

That will get you ‘apm’, then you can continue from there.

I hadn’t yet. Thanks!

It seems to work now, aside from it saying the files I’ve downloaded can’t be found. I assume I’m just going to have to figure out exactly how to type the file name of the packages I’ve downloaded and from there it should be fairly simple to get them installed and working.

I appreciate your quick response. This is all really new to me, but Atom looks like a great editor once I eventually get the hang of it.

There are multiple ways to install packages but I’m gonna list the easiest one. To install packages, go to Atom -> Preferences and open the Packages tab. Another way to get to the menu is using the Command Palette. Press cmd-shift-P to bring up the Command Palette and then start typing, packages. You should then see the Settings View: Install Packages option show up in the palette.

Hope this helps you.