Newbie to Atom questions

How do I open files in separate tabs from the projects pane? If I have a project open on the left, it keeps opening html file selections into the same tab. If I try to drag to a new tab slot nothing happens. What if I want to search and replace something in 30 files? I think dragging from Caja works, but then what is the point of the project pane?

Also, is there a way to convert text to html paragraph tags? Either a package or regex option is fine.

I just discovered Atom, so I am brand new to the software.

Thank you!

If you single-click on a file, the default is to open a pending tab indicated by an italicized title. If you double-click on the file, or if you make a change inside a pending tab, it will be made permanent until you close it.

How do you intend to tell Atom which text is to be converted?

Thanks! Learning.

I would like to start with an empty file, copy text from Word, and then have Atom create paragraph tags for all paragraphs. I can do this with PSPad or Dreamweaver in Windows easily.

Atom can be programmed to do anything. How comfortable are you with JavaScript or CoffeeScript?

I do not have the time to customize the program. I was just asking if it could be done in the current state with regex perhaps.

When it comes to GUI-based find and replace operations with regex, Atom is just as capable as Notepad++. If you’re just processing one large file, that’s perfectly fine (and I’ve done that in N++ plenty of times, myself). However, if this is a process that’s going to be repeated, the addition to Atom of a command that formats a whole document at once would be pretty simple and completely eliminate that time expenditure going forward.

I am really falling in love with Atom, and have started using it in Linux and Windows exclusively. I keep customizing it more and more, and that is such a huge plus.