Newbie Install Question on RHEL without sudo

Hello Atom,

I evaluated atom on my personal Windows machine and loved it!

I want to use this as everyday editor at my work, where RHEL 6 is OS.
Unfortunately I do not have a sudo access.
I used to install software that I need from tar.gz in my local dir and add them to $PATH.
Is there a way to install atom like this ? Without sudo and in my local dir ?
I cannot install it in /usr/bin or any / locations.

Please help!
Thanks.

I also would like to know how to do this! Any help please? Thanks a lot!

You ought to be able to download the tar.gz file from the GitHub releases page under the version you want.

I should have informed first that I’m a total newbie who works as a hardware developer with the following setup: main OS is Windows 8 on my laptop, then I connect to a GNOME desktop environment thru VNC Viewer. I use gvim for editing source codes. Now I stumbled upon atom and I’m amazed at its functionalities and its looks. How can I install it in my Unix home folder and use it without having sudo privileges? I followed the steps from the readme and it failed and said something like “this will be reported.” – Will this get me into trouble?

Yes. You’ve been added to Santa’s naughty list :smile:.

(Seriously though, you can do whatever you like with Atom. The message you saw was probably the generic “somethings gone wrong. This issue has already been reported”)

Have you tried the tar.gz file like I suggested?

I followed the steps from the readme and it failed and said something like “this will be reported.”

I know you’re a newbie, but for a developer, you clearly aren’t used to giving precise and informative statements.