New to Atom

I am attempting to use Atom for simple web design. I am a complete novice. I have never used a text editor of any kind. I have succeeded at creating an initial html file, but I can not figure out how to now change to css and how to have the two linked. What are the precise steps?

Various files can be linked to an HTML document by adding them in a <link> tag in the HTML file.

Here’s a reputable source about the <link> tag: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/HTML/Element/link

Basically you can do the following:

• Make a new file.
    • In Atom, you can press File -> New File in the main menu.
  • Save this new file with some file name your_filename_here.css, in the same folder where the HTML file is located.
  • Add a <link> tag to the HTML document from before, something like this:
    • <link rel="stylesheet" href="your_filename_here.css">

If you’re looking for more information I can try to help. Best of luck to you!

Thank you so much. I have at least been able to create the css file, and I will spend some time reading the link you sent me. Probably tomorrow since my brain is fried for today. Maybe more questions later.

Sounds good, glad I could help! The first coding/tech thing I ever learned was web tech (HTML and CSS), so it’s always nice to see other people learning it!

I’ll see if I can ask an intelligible question: With your instructions, I now have html and css files for my project, and can display them side-by-side. Now as I do the coding, how do I get to immediately view the results, as it would appear in the browser? I got the idea that clicking on the thunderbolt in Atom did that, but the only time I tried that, it did nothing (maybe because I did not have a CSS file yet), and seemed to need some other setting to make it work. Meanwhile, the thunderbolt and another icon that was just below it are now invisible to me and I cannot figure out how to get back to them.

Hi Lauren,