New To Atom & Coding using Python

I am totally new to programming I would like to learn so I will be able to help teach my daughter. I am having a hard time finding a tutorial explaining coding down to the basics. For example what do these mean {} or [] the basics at the lowest level. and what do the colors of the words mean. I have downloaded Atom and i would like to start learning with python.
any help with a good tutorial video would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You.

Hey, here is a link to a beginners guide from the Phyton Software Foundation others here might have other suggestions. I hope this helps!

Tutorials Point is a very solid site with everything under the sun, and the tutorials I’ve used from there have generally been better-written than ones I was looking at from other places. One of their tutorials is a very general, completely language-agnostic one on programming.

Punctuation. Curly brackets frequently indicate a block of code that belongs to the line before them, such as a function declaration. Square brackets are often used for variables that contain an array of values (called arrays), and depending on the language and context can be used to set up an array or to point to a specific value in the array.

The colors don’t mean anything intrinsically. The colors are there to help you identify what the words do without you having to read the code, which makes it easier to navigate, in addition to being prettier.

Hi, you might find this book interesting (Automate the Boring Stuff with Python).

the {} and [] can mean different things depending on the language,

[] usually indicates an arrray of items, in Python it is a list, that works in a similar way, ex: [3, 4, 70]
{} usually indicates a code block, but, in Python they are used for other data structures, since the code blocks are defined through identation.

More info on python data structures