Need help with learning how use Atom

I’ve never used a text editor before, only ever used Codecademy to learn languages. I want to start learning C++ and all the courses require you to download an editor, so I thought Atom would be great because it’s free but I’ve gone through every tutorial and I cant find anything to show me how to open a C++ file or how to run code. I’ve been looking for hours so if anyone could walk me through the basics it would be greatly appreciated. Sorry if I seem like an idiot but I’m a complete newbie.

Okay, the basics.

Text editors vs document editors vs code editors vs IDEs

Some of the first programs to be created for computers were text editors. As soon as we got monitors and command lines, people designed programs to allow writing documents. These were the digital cousins to the typewriter, and some of them were very bare-bones while others were developed by techies into very complex programs that could allow for rapid programming or data processing. If you say you’ve never used a text editor, I’d say you’re probably wrong, because everybody’s opened Notepad once or twice. It’s not a good editor by any means, but it edits text.

Following the invention of the desktop, document editors became the default editors. Microsoft Word is the most ubiquitous of these. They’re generally very opinionated about what and how people should write, and the WYSIWYG interface combined with these strong opinions can make it difficult to break the mold.

Another term you’ll hear around is “code editor”, which is a subset of text editors with features specifically geared toward programmers, like language recognition, the ability to control which invisible character gets inserted at the end of every line, automatic indentation, and so on.