Need help with Atom development workflow on Windows

I am new to developing for Atom and I am having some difficulties understanding how to make code changes within the Atom source code. I am trying to work on some bugs within the release-notes module and I am following the instructions located in the following documentation:

https://atom.io/docs/v0.138.0/advanced/node-modules

I am working on Windows and I’ve found that the instructions don’t really work for me. What I mean by that is when I build Atom it installs into the Program Files folder. That last step in those instructions wants me to run Atom from the cloned Atom source code repo. There is an atom.sh file and I’ve attempted to run it under Cygwin but it does nothing. I’ve peaked at the code and it appears as though the Windows coverage is not finished.

This leaves me scratching my head as to how to properly make changes and install them into Atom.

What’s more is that I don’t know if there is an implicit step for me to compile the coffeescript myself or if the npm install && apm rebuild will do it for me?

Additionally the last steps are confusing me, after I make my changes where should I execute npm install and apm rebuild? In the node-module repo or in the atom repo?

Part of the problem is that release-notes is an Atom package, not a Node module. Even though I’m not on Windows, I can share with you my general workflow for developing Atom packages. This is my flow for pre-existing packages that I want to modify:

1. Check out the package that I want to work on to a project directory (ex: ~/Source/release-notes)
  2. Link it as a Developer Mode only package. From within the project directory, execute: apm link --dev
    • This creates a symlink from the project directory to a directory of the same name under ~/.atom/dev/packages. Packages in this directory are only loaded when you start Atom in Developer mode, i.e. atom --dev
  3. Open the package in Atom
  4. Add a test for the functionality I want