Need help converting mean stack app to electron

First of all im very new in programming and im stuck at this point, i have this mean stack app that i want to be able to install on several pcs and my pi without having to setup npm and all that. Basically i want my webapp to start on the local wifi with an exe file. After googling around i found this electron thing.

The app starts a web server that is connected by via localhost and controls a machine i built.

Im new to working with software i allways just focused on the hardware and im totally stuck at this point.

Would i need to totally rewrite the app for it to work with electron? im confused , if someone would tell me where to start i’d really appreciate it

You don’t have to rewrite the app. You do have to add some things so that it knows how to behave like a desktop application. You can check out Wordpress Desktop for an example of a web app that just gets dropped into the desktop application component.

Thankyou for your reply! Can you give me a simple guide what i need to do ? The instructions is unclear for me

What are you getting hung up on?

My app structure is different i think, and my views are in jade, not html, what is the first step in the conversion ? Is it only the package.json i must edit?

You could use electron-compile which does a bunch of the compilation/transpilation for you: https://github.com/electron/electron-compile

Otherwise, you’ll want an npm/Gulp/Grunt script that compiles your scripts whenever you build the app.