Name pd is not defined

Hello Research Dept,

I’m a newbie so please bear with me. I have a Windows 10 laptop (Anaconda3 is installed) and I have installed Atom and a few packages:

Hydrogen
file-icons
project-manager

Basically, I’m trying to achieve what Alvaro did in this short blog:

I have included a snap shot of my test.py file and the error “name pd is not defined:”

Can you give me any suggestions as to what I need to do so Atom can find maplotlib, numpy and pandas? Where does Atom look when it imports these packages? How can I tell it where they are?

Thanks,

David

I feel like the problem is probably that Hydrogen thinks you want to run that line, so that’s all it sends to the interpreter. Can you try running the whole page at once?

Atom doesn’t look anywhere and doesn’t know anything. The Python interpreter (in this case iPython, since you’re using Hydrogen) is looking. Or not looking, in this case, because it doesn’t know that anything needs to be imported.

I installed the script package in Atom, and if I start Atom from the command line with ‘atom test.py’ from my Anaconda Prompt I can run test.py in Atom by typing ctrl-shift-b. It executes the entire program, But if I just click on Atom from windows and try to do ctrl-shift-b i get the error ‘python is not recognized…’. Hydrogen is still not working, though; it is supposed to execute the pandas and the plt lines “inline” the way Jupyter Notebooks does. Hydrogen pops up a window when I click on the pandas line and this shift-enter saying that it is updating the Hydrogen kernels:

Hydrogen is supposed to show the pandas dataframe inline and the matlibplot inline, and I suppose Hydrogen requires iPython to do that and it can’t get to it because of some missing configuration in the PATH variable or something like that. I’m wanting to understand the sequence of events going on under the hood so I can fix this. Thanks!