Move Cursor Using the init.coffee

Hey,
So, I have a simple command for entering the tag in html. Something like this

'custom:inserthtml': ->
  atom.workspace.getActiveTextEditor()?.insertText('<code></code>')

I have mapped this to ‘Ctrl+x’. However, what i was wanting to do now was have Ctrl+X enter and move the cursor to the middle of both tags so i could just start typing what i wanted to type. Is this possible?

Yes, it’s possible. However, snippets already do what you want to do. A snippet <a href="$1">$2</a> will place the cursor on $1 the first time you press tab, then $2. Do you have a particular reason why you want to override the cut key?

Sorry. Messed up there. I meant Alt+X. No specific reason to override the cut key. However, it would be fairly useful to use Alt-X since its an easy shortcut key for me.

I am fairly new to all this and just want to create a and then move to the middle of it. I haven’t modified atom before so it would be cool if you could point me as to how i would go about it.

I am however, gonna take a look at snippets and figure out how that words but would love your advice regardless. Thanks.

I was dumb. You don’t actually have to make a snippet unless you want something special, because Atom’s autocomplete does it already. Just type a and then tab or enter. Then you can press tab again to put the cursor between the tags. But I’ll explain snippets to you because it’s a powerful tool for automation.

To make the snippet I posted (say you want all the links on your site to open in new windows), this is what you need to add to your snippets file (you can get to it via the menu or the snippets.cson file in your .atom folder):

".text.html":
  "Anchor":
    prefix: "a"
    body: "<a href=\"$1\" target=\"_blank\">$2</a>"