Missing libcap.so.2

I’m not a linux expert (getting close though) but can someone give me a hint why I can’t load atom? This is the error. I’ve installed atom 404 on a new installation of ubuntu 14.04.

/usr/share/atom/atom: error while loading shared libraries: libcap.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I have only limited experience with Linux, but this kind of thing always sounds like a permission issue to me.
The second most common: that file is in a different folder because the installed library wasn’t the exact same that atom was expecting or a different version or some such nonsense.

And you do have the libcap2 APT package installed?

That fixed it. Thank you thank you. I wonder why the .deb installation missed this?

It’s not listed in the package dependencies, so that should be fixed… I’ll create an issue on github

Ah, I see you already did… You should probably open it again, detailing that it isn’t listed in the packages dependencies.

What’s the libcap2 package belong to?
I never knowingly installed it on my Ubuntu machine and had no problem installing the atom .deb package.

From the debian archive

Libcap implements the user-space interfaces to the POSIX 1003.1e capabilities available in Linux kernels. These capabilities are a partitioning of the all powerful root privilege into a set of distinct privileges.

Looks like it’s useful for a lot of packages, so that’s probably why you already had it installed.

This is one of the two things that keep annoying me about Linux: The permissions. Nothing is intuitive. You try to build something or install something under your own home folder and it still fails because some sub directory doesn’t let you write to it so you need to sudo that shit.

People say it makes Linux more safe, but at some point I’m happy to give up some security for a little less pain and more usefulness.