Loss of project folder list after uninstall and re-install

After uninstalling Atom and reinstalling it after loss of variable syntax highlighting on my mac, the list of folders and files under the heading “Project” is gone. Is there a way to retrieve that list? Thanks.

Did you have more than 1 project open? If you check the File > Reopen Project menu item, are the project folders you had opened listed there? If so, you can reopen them from there.

Otherwise if you open another folder again directly, the project and all its files and subfolders will be opened again.

Let me know if I misunderstood what you were asking :v:

That worked. Thank you so very much. I’m a raw beginner.

Sorry to bother again but my variables don’t seem to syntax highlight. Is something wrong with my uninstall and re-install? Simple things like x = 5; print(x) in Atom does give the result of 5 in the terminal. Thanks again.

Please post a screenshot of your Atom window.

Is something wrong with my uninstall and re-install?

Probably yes, since it was probably unnecessary. You reinstalled Atom to deal with an issue that usually just happens when people haven’t saved files with the proper extensions. I would recommend asking for help before taking drastic action like that.

The variables don’t syntax highlight.
By proper extensions, do you mean the packages and themes in Atom? Do some packages interfere with saving?
Thanks so much.

Hello.

Which one do you prefer?

Atom shown in (1) is seen with the default in-core grammar.
I would recommend the package MagicPython - colouring will be the same as seen in (2).

We can modify the “default” white colour, if that bothers you.

~

It seems that the variables that don’t highlight are also not recognized.
In this screenshot, the terminal does not print out all the numbers it should have between line 1 and the final line on this simple program.
Thanks so very much. I do like #1 but worry I have problems with recognition of the variables at times.