Linter-csslint not working

Hello,

I’m new to Atom, so sorry if this is something obvious, but I did some searching and couldn’t find anything. I just installed Atom, and the only other packages I’ve installed are linter, linter-javac, linter-jshint, and linter-csslint. The other linter packages work fine, but the csslint is unresponsive. I’m not sure if I need to do any more configuration, but I installed it like the rest of the packages. I went into command line and typed “apm install linter-csslint”, and then opened Atom, and I could see the packaged installed.

I then went to CSS Lint, to find a an example and created a new file “testcss.css” and entered the following:

.foo h1 {
font-size: 110%
}

.test {

}

When I move the cursor around the lines, I don’t get any kind of error message from the csslint. I’m using a Windows 7 machine. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Shouldn’t you write invalid css for the linter messages to pop up ;)?

Invalid CSS only? Nope. Linters are a superset of code style checkers, static analysis tools and syntax validators. So linters don’t necessarily detect code that is not even parsable (although it’d better do at least that), but also detect more subtle flaws like useless code, inconsistent indentation and incorrect use of certain language features.

That behavior is weird though. Did you install linter alongside? linter-csslint is just a provider for that one. It does work for me when both are installed:

D_side, yes I have linter installed, I also have linter-javac and linter-jshint installed and they work fine. Do you mind if I ask you what your config.cson looks like? Do I need to do any extra configuration for csslint? Do I need to install a css autocomplete or snippet, or syntax for Atom to understand css correctly?