Limitations of Editors in Browsers

This is not really part of our discussion but I studied brackets running in a web page and I thought it would be interesting to discuss Atom features versus web-based editors. There are four or five programming editors you can run in a web page like brackets.

These are limitations Brackets in a web page has compared to Atom.

• not supported by brackets project team
  • you have to set up your own server
  • Files must be on the one server
  • There is no file-based authentication. Anyone who can access you web page can read/write all your files.
  • extensions are not protected. any extension can steal your files
  • extensions using node can’t run
  • loading files is slow and has race conditions
  • no quick view or image viewing
  • code hints are too slow to use
  • you cannot use Ctrl+W, Ctrl+T, Ctrl+N, Ctrl+Tab (or any of those +Shift)
  • no way to install updates from editor page

This makes me think there will always be significant advantages of a local-based programming editor like Atom. Brackets was also designed to edit locally.

Atom on chromebook (was: Let's talk ChromeOS) [RESOLVED]

If you find yourself thinking that something isn’t part of the current discussion, you can always use the “Reply as linked Topic” feature:

Ok. I never remember that. I always think the only choice is to continue or start a totally new thread.

In the history of everything, new developments never replaced what has come before. If the original had value, it will continue to exist alongside the new.

For specific use cases web based editor are awesome. I use codepen all the time and love how I can just go in and edit my tumblr theme. On the other hand Sublime still starts fastest and that makes a lot of sense for much of my work.