Launching Atom from Command Line

This is my first time on the forum, so if I put this in the wrong spot, I apologize.

I am trying to figure out why Atom launches in the install directory when I am trying to create a new file from the command line. I am a CSCI student in an online class, my professor has posted instructions for launching Atom from the command line by changing directories to the CSCI235 folder and then typing: atom circleArea.cpp

In his video it launches Atom in the CSCI235 folder, but in my attempt it launches Atom in C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\atom\app-1.19.4

I can navigate to save the file in the CSCI235 folder, but I am trying to figure out why it is doing it in the first place, and how to make it default to creating the file in the directory I am launching it from.

It might help if you posted a video, so that we could see what’s going on.

Well, I don’t have any video capturing software, and I don’t really have space for any on my computer. I guess I am to assume that I am the only person in the world who has Atom start in the AppData directory even when you launch it from another directory? I will tell you exactly what I did:

I installed MinGW-w64 as a command line interface (http://sourceforge.net/projects/mingw-w64/ ). Complete default settings since my instructor did not indicate anything else.

Then I installed Atom (https://atom.io/ ) and it didn’t even give me any options for setup.

I then opened MinGW, starting in C:\

I typed “cd users\username\documents\csci235” and hit enter. It brought my current directory to c:\users\username\documents\csci235\

I typed “atom hello.cpp”

That brought up an Atom window that if I hit ctrl+s ends up saving it in “C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\atom\app-1.19.4” instead of “C:\Users\Username\Documents\CSCI235”