Large data traffic when working with remote files in Atom

Hello!

I work with Atom (v. 1.51.0 x64) on Mac doing Python development. The files I’m updated are located remotely, and so I typically mount (with mount_smbfs) the remote drive to open and make changes. Each file is on the order of tens of KB. However, I find that when I make changes in Atom and when saving, I have hundreds of MB in download traffic. I didn’t see nearly the same data usage when trying the same with Xcode, and there was next to no usage when using TextEdit. I’m monitoring my traffic with Bandwidth+.

I found this Reddit thread about Atom automatically downloading updates every time it was opened, which was affecting me as well until I disabled the “automatic update” option. But otherwise, I can’t seem to find anyone else with the same issue. I’m no expert in Atom/networks, so I’m having trouble figuring out what could be causing the issue.

Any ideas? Is this something that can be managed with careful configuration of options? I’d like to continue using Atom, as I’ve grown very familiar with the setup, but this data traffic issue
Many thanks in advance for your help.

Best regards,
Milos

If you’re suspecting Atom to cause the traffic, you could keep an eye on the network tab of Atom’s developer tools to gather additional information.

Here’s an example of mine:

However, not all traffic cause by Atom is visible here. Some processes (e.g. apm) run outside of the window context, so they won’t show up here. But it might help you compare the data to what you see in Bandwidth+.

My guess is that this won’t reveal anything that causes substantial traffic.

Thanks for your reply!