Is there a way to initialize a text box with several rows?

Hi,

I’m just getting started with Atom package development, and I’m trying to create a text box in my custom view (using the TextEditorView from atom-space-pen-views), but it’s only got a single row by default. How can I initialize it with several rows ?

Thanks !

It depends on whether you’re using the TextEditor with the mini mode enabled or not (mini editors are the ones you can see in the find-and-replace panel for instance).

# Basic editor: 
new TextEditorView({})

# Mini editor: 
new TextEditorView({mini: true})

Mini editors aren’t intended to display many rows, basic editors does, so if you want the user to input multiline content you should not pass the mini option to the TextEditorView constructor.

OTOH, if you want to populate the editor with a content that already spans many rows, use the text option in the constructor options argument:

new TextEditor({text: 'Hello\nWorld\n\n\n'})

BTW, you can also write your code to use the new MV API in Atom, while TextEditorView is still available in atom-space-pen-views it just creates a TextEditor and a TextEditorElement under the hood.

For an example you can look at my - currently WIP - table-edit package, where I also use a TextEditor to edit cells:

https://github.com/abe33/atom-table-edit/blob/master/lib/table-element.coffee#L839-L842

Thanks @abe for your answer. The TextEditor instance I’m talking about has the mini mode disabled. I’m currently adding the content on my view this way (it might be deprecated) :

I like the idea of populating the editor with a prexisting content spanning many rows (although the place-holder text wouldn’t display I guess ?), but I’m not using the TextEditor constructor anywhere for the moment.

Should I rewrite my code using the new MV API, or is there still a way to solve my problem without changing my code too much ?