Invisible text in UI text boxes

After several uninstall/reinstall and multiple UI themes, I am unable to see text in any UI controls (example Find/Replace boxes). I can type and add text to the controls and DevTools reveals that the text is added to the markup; however no letters are visible in control.

I’m not sure when it stopped working, had worked fine for many moons.

screen grab showing blank control.

Image%203

Do you have anything in your styles.less (File -> Stylesheet...)?

styles.less was not present in my .atom/ folder. but the UI created me a new one that is blank. no change in the behavior.

What happens when you start Atom from the command line with atom --safe?

This is mac os, So, I opened atom thusly:
$ open -a atom --args --safe

The problem persists

You can open atom an macOS with atom --safe too.

Noticing that DevTools shows 1 error:

thanks for clarifying. I’m a mac noob.

atom.io still not showing contents of UI text boxes… I’ve reinstalled again. Really need to sort this out.

Noticing with dev tools that I can find the typed text, but that it isn’t visible in the UI. Any help would greatly appreciated.

I don’t see anything that I understand to be able to cause that issue.

Misbehaving font?
The syntax theme looks strange too.

@grektokomus:
Greg, have you tried yet to change the theme being used? Do you see any change in colours and other behaviours?

Hi,

I face the same issue with MacOS 10.13.5. I tracked it down a little further. The inputs in the search box gets invisible starting with atom version 1.25.0. All prior versions like 1.24.1 work fine.

I don’t have any templates installed and just use the default ones, also no custom styles are used in style file.

It would be great if you could find the cause. I am willing to help!

Best regards

@blablub121 - Your tip is extremely helpful!

:smile: Should I suggest to avoid the issue, switch over to Windows? (just joking)