Inserting text at a position

Quick question - would appreciate any help.

I’m just getting started with making packages. I’ve been through the tutorial, and while I understood most of it, I don’t quite feel able to get what I need from the API alone.

I’m trying to insert text at some given points. I’m able to get the points, but I can’t figure how to insert text at those points. I think it;s something to do with a textbuffer… but really I can’t figure it out. Would really appreciate any help.

You don’t have to use TextBuffer. You can use TextEditor.insertText:

currentPosition = editor.getCursorBufferPosition()
editor.setCursorBufferPosition([row, column])
editor.insertText('foo')
editor.setCursorBufferPosition(currentPosition)

Many thanks! Solved my problem perfectly

The advanced version of the above would use editor.getCursorBufferPositions() (← note the plural) to handle the case where the user has multiple cursors.

Ah, that’d be great - except it seems to only return a single point for each selection - I need the start and end point of each highlighted piece of text, is there a way to find that?

You can use editor.getSelectedBufferRanges() to get all selections in a file

And here’s the documentation:

Thanks for the advice on getSelectedBufferRanges()

I’ve used it now, and it’s working great, except that it is inserting text at an earlier position than I expected. Here’s the code:

var bufferPointsMultiple = editor.getSelectedBufferRanges();

//text variables
    var startText = "foo";
    var endText = "bar"

//test
    for (var i = 0; i < bufferPointsMultiple.length; i++){

var pointTo = bufferPointsMultiple[i].serialize();

var startPoint = pointTo[0];
      var endPoint = pointTo[1];

editor.setCursorBufferPosition(startPoint);
      editor.insertText(startText);
      editor.setCursorBufferPosition(endPoint);
      editor.insertText(endText);
    }

If I highlight the text:

hello

I get the output

foohebarllo