Inserting special characters (umlauts, etc)

I’m new to Atom, having used Sublime, and I’m trying to figure out if there’s a reasonable way to define keystrokes to enter non-ascii characters, such as all the letters with diacritics in ISO-8859-1. In Sublime, I could do it directly in the keymap:

[
{ “keys”: [“f1”, “`”, “a”], “command”: “insert”, “args”: {“characters”: “à”} },
{ “keys”: [“f1”, “’”, “a”], “command”: “insert”, “args”: {“characters”: “á”} },
{ “keys”: [“f1”, “^”, “a”], “command”: “insert”, “args”: {“characters”: “â”} },
{ “keys”: [“f1”, “~”, “a”], “command”: “insert”, “args”: {“characters”: “ã”} },
{ “keys”: [“f1”, “”", “a”], “command”: “insert”, “args”: {“characters”: “ä”} },
. . .
]

That works in Sublime because commands are Python functions that take arguments. In Atom, commands are events, and don’t appear to take arguments. I could define a command per character, but that seems inelegant, not to mention it would horrendously pollute the command palette. Am I missing something?

I’m not sure if this is right; Atom (and presumably Sublime) will react to keyboard events, and run a corresponding command if applicable (JS function in Atom’s case, Python in Sublime’s).

So if you set a keybinding, it will trigger a JS function. I believe you will be able to read what keys were pressed from the event that is passed as an argument.

You can use event.keyCode (or event.which) to detect which key has been pressed. To get the actual character from the returned keycode, you can use String.fromCharCode(event.keyCode).

But is there a way to get all the key presses that fired my command? Note that in the keymap above I’m defining 3-key sequences.

FYI, by setting a breakpoint in my command handler, I could discover that it’s actually event.originalEvent.keyCode that reveals the last key press. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find anything obvious in the environment to tell me the complete key sequence that got me there.