I'm An Idiot and Need Help

I have over 20 years of networking, WAN and other IT technologies and want to become good at programming since I have mastered everything else and am getting bored quite honestly. I want to start to write apps as it seems like a different challenge and something I will enjoy. With that said, I started learning Python until I ran into Electron which seems much better since you can build desktop apps without worrying about all the components (Python, QT, etc).

The problem is that I don’t know where to start. I failed at getting Electron to install on Ubuntu with npm which I hope to figure out soon. Assuming I can get it installed, I don’t even know where to start? Should I learn javascript, HTML5? Is there a beginner’s guide on how to write basic programs in Electron?

Sorry if this sounds so basic but I don’t even know where to begin once I get Electron going. I was able to get the stand alone install working but not the npm global install. Assuming I just use the stand alone for now, can someone tell me where to start? Should I pick up a book and learn javascript and HTML5 or something else?

When reading the Electron website, most of it just goes right over my head as I think it’s written for experienced developers which I am not. I used to write C but that was over 20 years ago and don’t remember much of it at all.

Maybe someone can point me in the right direction as to how I get started to learn how to program with Electron from a beginner’s standpoint. I would greatly prefer to learn this programming language as it seems you can rapidly build desktop and web apps without worrying about making all the components play together like in Python.

Thanks,

Scott

The plain intro you’re looking for is here.