How to use electron APIs inside angular2 app

I am new to electron and Angular2 world so my question might seems a bit too basic.

I want to build a desktop app for mac and windows using angular2, so I chose electron as its a great framework. I managed to load angular quickstart app from angular official page inside electron shell and it was great, however the problem arise when I tried to import electron API’s to use them in my component.
I am not sure what all settings it needed to achieve that, if someone who knows the answer will appreciate to help us

I think what you might be looking for is the remote package. This allows you to access Electron’s main process from your Angular app, which is running in the renderer process.

Hi @riebschlager,
to be honest I am at the begining level, what I want to know is how to import lets say ipcRenderer or BrowswerWindow or any other electron API’s inside my angular component for example take a look at following snipet

import { Component } from '@angular/core';
import { ipcRenderer } from "electron";

@Component({
selector: 'my-app',
templateUrl: `./app.component.html`,
})
export class AppComponent  {
AppComponent(){}

openFile() {
  ipcRenderer.send('open-file-dialog');
 }
}

here ipcRenderer is always undefined :frowning:
also I would be happy if you help me with where should my main process code reside, should it be separate file from angular component or in an angular service , and where to include them, does main,ts of elecctron is where I need to include all my main processes to be included?

Thanks in advance

I’m not 100% sure, but I don’t think you can use ES6 imports in Electron like that. Maybe?

Do you have any luck if you change that second line to:

const { ipcRenderer } = require('electron');

Or maybe try the import slightly differently?

import electron from "electron";
const { ipcRenderer } = electron;

unfortunately does not work :frowning: