How to run java programs in Atom editor

Hello

I want to run Java programs in the Atom editor. However, with heavy research I have come to no solution. The first error I can not seem to overcome is “Selection Based runner not available for Java”. I am still new to programming so I would greatly appreciate any feedback. The more detail the better. Thanks!

I am using Windows 10.
Packages installed include- atom runner, script, set-syntax

Break it down a bit more. I know script has an option to run by selection, so that’s the one you’re using? It sounds like you need to run the whole script at once.

Bare with me
I go to Packages - Script - Run Script (or Ctrl+Shft+B) and get this

I have already selected Java as the language.

How do I configure this

into the script or am I suppost to add the Java language to the atom-runner?

That’s nothing to do with either of the packages. If you go to your System settings and click on Advanced System Settings, it brings up a window with a button that says Environment Variables at the bottom. You can click on that and then there are two Path variables, one for the user in the top window and one for the whole system in the bottom. Look in both of them for something that looks like it points to the JDK on your computer. If that’s not present, that might be the cause your error.

or am I suppost to add the Java language to the atom-runner?

Is that what the Runner documentation says to do? I think you’re getting ahead of yourself, trying to get two different packages to work at the same time, and you aren’t differentiating between them in your questions. Focus on Script for now.

Java isn’t designed to be executed in a selection-based or line-by-line way like scripting languages are. I’m not surprised that there is no support for executing Java in this manner. I doubt there is a way around this error.

As for the Environment Variables this is what it looks like