How to read a MemoryStream of a PDF and open it

Hi,

I am a newbie in working with electron. I have built an app which communicates with a .Net REST service to fetch some data and display it on the screen. One of the data includes a PDF file which resides on a remote server which is read by the REST service and sent to the app as a MemoryStream.

How can i read the PDF from this memory stream and open the same in the Adobe Acrobat Reader which is installed on my windows 7 machine ? Please find below a sample code -

var optionsGetPDF = {
        host: 'localhost',
        port: 8080,
        path: '/GetPDFdoc?docid=' + docid,
        method: 'GET'
};

http.request(optionsGetPDF, function (res) {
    res.pipe(memStream);
    res.on('end', function () {
         alert(memStream.toString().length)
    })
}).end();

Any help is very much appreciated !!

Regards
Shobhit

Its been 8 days since i posted this question, could anyone please help on this ?

Have you tried saving it in a file and then opening that file in Acrobat?

Sorry, I am not too much familiar with working with electron. I have tried the opening part with the help of the shell, but that I have been able to do for a file on the client machine by giving the full path. I did not play around with the ‘fs’ that much.

But I did try the below -

var fs = require('fs');
var wstream = fs.createWriteStream('myfile.pdf');

var optionsGetPDF = {
};

res.pipe(memStream);
    wstream.write(memStream);
         alert(memStream.toString().length)
    })
}).end();

On this I am getting error on wstream.write(memStream) -
Uncaught TypeError: Invalid non-string/buffer chunk.

Could you please provide me a code snippet how do i work around with it.

Thanks much.

Given the code you are showing, I would suspect that this would work better:

var fs = require('fs');
var wstream = fs.createWriteStream('myfile.pdf');

var optionsGetPDF = {
};

res.pipe(wstream);
         alert(wstream.toString().length)
    })
}).end();